I don’t wanna grow up…but i suppose i must?

Posted: December 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

The other night I realized something… At twenty-six I feel as if I should “feel” like an adult… Sometimes peers or people older look at the way I dress and the way I act with the, “it’s time you grew up” look.  Briefly I entertain the thought, torn between acting like the “adult” society tells me to be and the child God calls me to be. It is a strange place to be…this cross road of mine… But then with my mind made up, I embrace the two. I desire to be an adult that sees the world with Child-like wonder, devours each day with Child-like joy…that loves and forgives like a child…that embraces my emotions, how I really feel, like a child.

I mean think about it… Kids are the most honest among us. We know when they are happy, sad, angry, bewildered, curious, mischievous… They wear their heart on their sleeves, unguarded, uninhibited. They are bold in a way we have forgotten how to be. If you offend them or hurt them, their turn-around time between hurt and forgiveness is about 1 minute or less. They love with affection more honest and deeper than most of us allow ourselves. Somewhere along the way we forgot how enthralled we used to be with the little things. Bugs are no longer wondrous creatures that we stuff into our pockets…they are terrifying or gross. The appeal of making mud pies has long since gone.

115193702938330228_cXyd4Wn6_c

 

 

Think about this: when was the last time you got this –>

excited about something?

 

 

 

 

 

In the past few months though I have been captivated by the way kids see and experience the world around them. I am captivated by they joy they carry… Not too long ago I walked into the home of some dear friends of mine. Jack(age 3) was

Photo on 4-15-12 at 2.19 PM #2sitting at the table eating his dinner of chicken nuggets. The moment he saw me he exclaimed, “HEY! You’re here!”

With a huge grin I pointed back at him and with equal excitement exclaimed, “You’re here!”

“Yeah!” he said with a fist pump, “We’re both here!”

…I’ve never been quite so excited to be somewhere as I was in that moment.

 

Photo on 8-2-12 at 4.12 PM #4Another time not too long ago, I was heading outside of the same home holding the hand of Fiona(age 3 ½). She looked up at me and ask, “Lana, how old are you?”

“I am twenty-six.” I said.

After pondering for a brief moment she smiled up at me and with a big thumbs up said, “Good job, Lana!!”

…I’ve never felt quite so accomplished as I did in that moment.

I have countless stories like these in which the kids in my life have reminded me of things I forgot.

I realize now, one of my favorite things, something I know is one of God’s favorite things about me, is how much of a big kid I am. He and I love how much I love to “run-a-muck”, finger paint, make people laugh… I’ve not changed too much since I was a kid… i’ve grown a bit taller, experienced a lot of life…Still…This next year I hope and pray that as I continue to press on into this thing we call “being an adult” that I keep pressing on into to

394618_815124477604_181233164_nChild-like wonder, excitement, joy, love and forgiveness…

 

IMG_1361

Comments
  1. Brad Baldwin says:

    Really good blog! I needed this reminder of how a child views the world! Now to go and live it 🙂

Leave a comment