Signs and Wonder…

Posted: October 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

Signs & Wonders…

SignsIt is day one of my adventures in California. Already I have seen God do some really cool things…I.E. I went to check cost of flights to get back to Atlanta. I cringed at the thought of having to spend another $170 plus baggage fees. Still, I wanted to be diligent and look in case there were cheap flights so I could be sure to be a good steward of the money people have sent thus far. I typed in the desired date into Priceline… $175-$331 were the prices now unfurling on my screen. Every flight had a ridiculous layover in some city that was so far north of Atlanta it made no sense! An inward grown erupted within… “Jesus, you know I can’t afford that and I don’t have enough support right now to cover the cost…” I thought. As I sat there quietly beginning to contemplate if maybe it was better to just forget flying back I felt prompted to check the next day which would mean flying in on a Monday rather than Sunday… $156-$171. My jaw dropped as I realized the cheapest flight was a direct flight with Delta which not only meant I could save money but that I could also earn skymiles!!

It moved me to think about His signs of love and my wonder at it all. I mean… He has given signs…proof of His goodness and sovereignty. Still, as we are faced with adversity we often wonder, “Yeah, but will You come through this time?” It is a difficult thing to live out of faith ALL.THE.TIME. A difficulty that is often compounded by those that surround us. Which reminded me of this:

One of my favorite Jesus moments though was when He went into that home in which their daughter had died. They begged Him to raise her back to life. He agreed, but kicked all the family out because there was no room for doubt. It was only faith that could stand in the presence of that miracle.

Re-Generation is currently in a position where we need God to show up. We need Him to do the impossible…the kind of impossible that only faith can stand in the presence of. It is crazy to me. It makes me tremble at the thought of that mustard size faith… And makes me wonder if I have the courage to stand and watch as the Lord shows up… do I have the faith to look on? Or in doubt will I close my eyes, brace for impact, and pray He doesn’t makes us crash and burn?

The thing I keep coming back to, though, is that as hard as it is to trust and have the faith in the things I can’t even…I see them as impossible…the thing I want past myself is to see God do the impossible. I don’t want to see the after effects, like the little girl ’s family did… they saw a dead girl and then saw her alive…they missed His prayer, the DOING of the miracle… I want to be in the room when He DOES the thing. He doesn’t need me, and sometimes I don’t need to see, but He wants me to be with Him… seeking Him, trusting Him, and believing He is who He says He is and He will do what He said He would do…no matter who or what tries to oppose that.

So the thought I will be musing over this season is, “Am I the family member that gets kicked out because I don’t have the faith or just want to see a show, or am I the one who gets to be by His side and Watch Him do the impossible and celebrate with Him in that moment?” because if I am really honest, I know that this is a season in which I will have the chance to see God do the impossible… today already I have seen signs of His goodness and glory and I stand there watching in wonder and amazement.

Leave a comment